Gramma! You know how to make ice cubes?

20120822-122817.jpgRemember these?
I saw this post on Slate and thought of a true story that happened at my mother’s condo in Florida when my college sophomore niece was about 8 years old.

My mother was making a pitcher of lemonade and used up all of the ice cubes. You see, we don’t have an ice maker in our refrigerator down there.

20120822-123235.jpgMy niece was sitting at the counter rapt by the process of filling the trays with water. With the innocence of a child she said, with awe “Gramma, you know how to make ice cubes?”

20120822-123800.jpgThe only refrigerator she knew had ice and water in the door (along with lots of artwork and pictures, of course). When my mother explained the process of making ice you would have thought she gave her the formula for cold fusion. If gramma was revered she was now idolized.

And it was as simple as making ice.

Have a yummy day…on the rocks!

20120822-124230.jpg